You are here:

Latest news

Statutory Annual Council - Thursday 18 May 2023

Published on Friday, 19th May 2023

Maldon District Council Logo

Maldon District Council has elected a new Chairman.

At the Statutory Annual meeting of Maldon District Council held on Thursday 18 May, the Council elected Cllr Kevin Lagan as Chairman of the Council for the municipal year.

The positions of Vice Chairman of the Council, Leader, Deputy Leader, Opposition Leaders together with the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Committees, and representatives on outside bodies, will be decided at an extraordinary meeting of Council on Thursday 8 June.

During the meeting, long service awards were presented by former Vice-Chairman of the Council, Stephen Nunn, to Bob Boyce MBE and Richard Dewick in recognition of their long service to the Council.  Long service awards will also be given to Penny Channer and Brian Beale MBE who were unable to attend.

Cllr Kevin Lagan, Chairman of Maldon District Council, said; As someone born in Maldon, and having grown up in the area, I am really passionate about the district. To have been elected as Chairman of the Council is a great honour for me.  I look forward to working with all of my fellow Councillors this year and supporting the community to the best of my ability.”